Traditions

Christmas in Hutsulia

In Hutsulia Christmas begin to prepare in advance. Of sheaves on the ancient tradition of braided tree – “Diduh.” It is believed that the spirits of ancestors settled there who watch over the house. Early in the morning of the 6th January mistress lit “live fire” in the oven of 12 logs and cook 12 meatless dishes ritual. In the first place, among the dishes of the Holy Supper, Kutya – cooked wheat with nuts, poppy seeds and honey. According to some researchers of folk customs, it is considered an echo of the ancient tables, arranged during the funeral of the martyrs of the Christian faith. As a grain of wheat annually alive, for this reason, it symbolizes eternity, and honey – a symbol of eternal happiness of the righteous in heaven. January 7, Christmas begins the real Christmas carols. Hutsuly visit their friends and relatives, go from village to village with a den. These days most people drive in a sleigh bells in harness. Seven days after Christmas, on January 14 is celebrated Old New Year on January 18, a day of fasting on 19 January celebrate “Jordan” or “Vodohresche.” Dining begin only when the first star in the sky.

Hutsul wedding

Hutsul wedding – it’s almost a fairy tale. Hutsuly even now observe their traditions. They still wear over national costumes, decorated horses. The bride and groom on their wedding day escorted elders, groomsman, matchmakers and boyars. Wedding filled with mournful and merry songs, games, dancing, fun. None of the wedding is complete without the roll or loaf, embroidered towels and flowers, hanging on the branches of trees and clothes guests. The exact time is not specified weddings. Matchmaking and engagement is usually held in the spring, rarely summer, autumn and winter. And try to get married before the start of Lent. Because weddings are prohibited during any post. The first sign in the Hutsul region, on the arrival of the matchmakers, was to give them towels that means preparing for the wedding. Become binding on the towel meant marriage. According to ancient custom, embroidered towels to give the best cakes, with regards to the lives of young was beautiful and rich. Young go to church on horseback.

narodni_zvichai_7

Seeing the meadow

Seeing Hutsul shepherds in the remote mountain pastures – meadows for grazing is a very big holiday. Brighter than all his mark in Mykulychyn. Exit to pasture takes place in May and lasts until September. In the meadow the living conditions of the shepherds hard: in the highlands are very common cold, two days out of three – rainy and sometimes middle of summer snow may fall. Work shepherds last from early morning until late at night already, but despite this every Hutsul dreams of becoming a shepherd. Life Hutsul shepherds characterized by three things – Trembita, cheese and Vatra. The ringleader of a poloninskie tunes lights the fire – Vatra and young shepherds at this time dancing male Hutsul ritual dance “Arkan” with small size hatchets in their hands. Owczary treat all comers and Woerden Buzdov. At the end of the wire arrange a concert.

Easter in Hutsulia

Feast of the Passover in Hutsulia established Christian church in honor of the resurrection of Jesus Christ is rich in customs and rituals. Hutsuly Palm week brought out of the church consecrated willow, it slightly beat each of their families. In the concept of ancestors consecrated willow has healing properties. Lent is a time of manufacture Easter eggs. Their masters were in each village. In order to sanctify the church to cart lozhili Passover krashanki and Eggs, butter, cheese, salt and sausage. Also be sure to cart lozhili horseradish, as a sign of memories of the pain of Christ, wax candle, which is inserted into the Passover – a symbol of the Resurrection of Christ and the divine light. The poor went to church on foot and on horseback rode rich.

Want to see all this beauty and to take part in the ancient traditions of western Ukraine? Podiskivayte Statement hotel or guest-house, order number, and come to the celebration of Christmas or Easter. Please note that booking rooms worth in advance, as every year the demand increases.

Традиции жителей Карпат

Рождество на Гуцульщине

На Гуцульщине к Рождеству начинают готовиться заранее. Из снопов по древней традиции выплетают деревце – “Дидуха”. Считается, что в нем поселяются духи дедов, которые опекают дом. Рано утром 6го января хозяйки зажигают “живой огонь” в печи из 12 поленьев и готовят 12 постных ритуальных блюд. На первом месте, среди блюд Святого Вечера,  Кутя – вареная пшеница с орехами, маком и медом. По мнению некоторых исследователей народных обычаев, это считается отголоском древних столов, устраиваемых в дни похорон мучеников веры Христовой. Как зерно пшеница ежегодно оживает, по этой причине она символизирует вечность, а мед – это символ вечного счастья праведников на небе. 7 января, на Рождество начинаются настоящие рождественские колядки. Гуцулы навещают своих друзей и родственников, ходят от села к селу с вертепами. В эти дни большинство людей ездит на санях с колокольчиками в упряжке. Через семь дней после Рождества, 14 января, празднуется Старый Новый год, 18 января целый день постятся, 19 января празднуют “Йордан” или “Водохреще”. Ужинать начинают только при появлении на небе первой звезды.

Гуцульская свадьба

Гуцульская свадьба – это практически сказка. Гуцулы даже сейчас соблюдают свои традиции. Они и по сей день одевают на себя национальные костюмы, украшают лошадей. Жениха и невесту в день свадьбы сопровождают старосты, дружки, сваты и бояре. Свадьба наполнена жалобными и веселыми песнями, играми, танцами, забавами. Ни одна из свадеб не обходится без калача или каравая, вышитых рушников и букетов, вешающих на ветки деревьев и одежду гостей. Точное время свадеб не указано. Сватание и помолвка обычно состоится весной, редко летом, осенью и зимой. А сыграть свадьбу стараются до начала Великого Поста. Потому что свадьбы запрещены  во время любого поста. Первый признак на Гуцульщине, по приходу сватов, было дать им рушники, что означало подготовку к свадьбе. Стать на рушник значило закрепление брака. По древнему обычаю, на вышитых рушниках дарят лучшие калачи, с пожеланиями, чтобы жизнь молодых была красивой и богатой. Молодые в церковь едут на лошадях.

narodni_zvichai_7

Проводы на полонину

Проводы гуцульских пастухов на отдаленные горные пастбища – полонины для выпаса скота является очень большим праздником. Ярче всех его отмечают в Микуличине. Выход на пастбище происходит в мае и длится до сентября. На полонине условия жизни у пастухов тяжелые: в высокогорье очень часты холода, два дня из трех – дождливые, а иногда среди лета может выпасть снег. Работа пастухов длиться с раннего утра и аж до поздней ночи, но, несмотря на это каждый гуцул мечтает стать пастухом. Жизнь гуцульских пастухов характеризуют три вещи – это трембита, брынза и ватра. Главарь под полонинские напевы зажигает огонь – ватру, а молодые пастухи в это время танцуют мужской гуцульский ритуальный танец “Аркан” с маленького размера топориками в руках. Всех желающих овчары угощают вурдой и буздом. В завершение провод устраивают праздничный концерт.

Пасха на гуцульщине

Праздник Пасхи на Гуцульщине установленный Христианской церковью в честь воскресения из мертвых Иисуса Христа отличается богатством обычаев и обрядов. Гуцулы в вербную неделю приносят из церкви освященную вербу, ею слегка бьют каждого из своей семьи. В понятии предков освященная верба обладала целебными свойствами. Великий пост является временем изготовления писанок. Свои мастера были в каждом селе. Для того чтобы освятить в церкви в корзину ложили пасху, крашанки и писанки, масло, сыр, соль и колбасу. Также в корзину обязательно ложили хрен, как знак воспоминания о муках Христа, восковую свечку, которая вставлена в пасху – это символ Христового воскресения и божественного света. Бедные шли в церковь пешком, а богатые ехали на лошадях.

Хотите увидеть всю эту красоту и принять участие в древнейших традициях западной Украины? Подискивайте себе отель, или гостинный двор, заказывайте номер и приезжайте на празднования Рождества или Пасхи. Обратите внимание на то, что бронировать номера стоит заранее, так как с каждым годом спрос увеличивается.